SwiftInvoicer
Free: 3 PDFs every 24 hours

Home / Invoice templates / Canada invoice template with GST and HST

Canada invoice template with GST and HST

Free: 3 PDFs every 24 hours

This page is a field guide for putting GST or HST on the SwiftInvoicer PDF. It is not a ruling that your supply is taxable, and it is not advice to register. The sample uses 13 percent only because the Canada Revenue Agency's own Ontario example uses 13 percent HST. Change the rate if your place of supply is somewhere else. The business number in the sample is a placeholder, not a real GST/HST account.

What the CRA says to show

The CRA page "Charge and collect the GST/HST" says you must let customers know whether GST/HST is being applied and whether it is included in the price or added separately. You have to show the GST/HST rate that applies, and either the amount paid or payable and the GST/HST as separate lines, or a clear statement that the total includes GST/HST. If HST applies, show the total HST rate. Do not show the federal and provincial parts separately. That is why this editor's single tax line is a fit for an HST province and a poor fit for a province that charges GST and a separate provincial sales tax.

The same CRA page says the rate depends on the place of supply, not on where your office happens to sit. Its examples, read on 7 October 2026: a delivery into Ontario was charged 13 percent HST, a delivery into Nova Scotia was charged 14 percent HST, and a pickup in Manitoba was charged GST of 5 percent plus Manitoba PST of 7 percent. Zero-rated supplies are 0 percent throughout Canada. Basic groceries are the example the page gives. Exempt supplies are a different category. This page does not list them. Use the CRA "type of supply" page linked below.

The CRA GST/HST calculator page, date modified 1 April 2025 and read on 7 October 2026, prints this GST/HST column: Alberta 5, British Columbia 5, Manitoba 5, New Brunswick 15, Newfoundland and Labrador 15, Northwest Territories 5, Nova Scotia 14, Nunavut 5, Ontario 13, Quebec 5, Prince Edward Island 15, Saskatchewan 5, Yukon 5. The same table prints a PST column for the non-harmonized provinces, including Quebec at 9.975 percent. The CRA tells you to go to the province's own site for more on PST. Those PST figures are what that CRA table showed on the day it was read. They are not a second calculation this PDF can perform.

What to type in this editor

For a participating province, enter the single HST rate from the table above and label the work in the line description. The PDF prints "Tax" plus that percent and a separate tax amount. Put your GST/HST registration number in the tax or registration ID field. It prints under your address on Basic, Professional, and Modern. The sample value 000000000RT0001 is not a registration. Replace it. Confirm a real number with the CRA's GST/HST account lookup before you rely on a supplier's invoice. That lookup is linked below.

For a GST-only province that also charges PST, do not add the two percentages and call the sum HST. This PDF cannot print two tax lines. Enter the GST rate in the tax field. If you must show PST, add a line item for the PST amount you calculated yourself and say in the notes that it is PST, not a second automatic tax. Whether that presentation satisfies the province is a question for that province. The CRA's invoice rules for registrants who need an input tax credit are stricter as the amount grows. The chart on the Input tax credits page, page details 19 November 2024, shows bands of under $100, $100 to $499.99, and $500 or more. Under $100 the chart asks for the supplier's name, the date, and the total. From $100 to $499.99 it also asks for the GST/HST amount or a statement that tax is included, the status of mixed taxable and exempt supplies, and the supplier's GST/HST number. At $500 or more it also asks for the buyer's name, a brief description, and the terms of payment. A footnote on that same page says that, under proposed changes as of 20 April 2021, the thresholds increase to $100 from $30 and to $500 from $150. The chart already prints the higher bands. The increase is still labeled proposed. This editor can hold those facts if you type them. It does not check them.

The editor on this page is the same one as the homepage. Basic downloads are free within a rolling 24-hour allowance: 3 PDFs, then the button stops until a slot is 24 hours old. It is not a midnight reset. Professional and Modern are a different drawing of the same invoice for $4.99 once. They do not add a customer list, reminders, or online card collection.

Payment terms and common mistakes

Write a due date and a payment method in Canadian dollars when the currency is CAD. The PDF formats CAD with a C$ prefix and two decimals. It does not file a GST/HST return, and the invoice date on a real registrant return is the CRA's point about when tax is reportable even if you have not been paid. That sentence is the CRA's, on the charge-and-collect page. Keep your own records for the period the CRA describes. This website does not store a free download in the order database.

Common mistakes: leaving the Ontario 13 in place for an Alberta supply, blending GST and PST into one percent, printing the placeholder business number, and assuming a small-supplier threshold that this page deliberately does not state. Registration thresholds were not copied here. Currency set to USD on a Canadian supply. Treating Quebec's QST as something this PDF calculated. The 9.975 figure above is the PST column on the CRA table, and QST administration is Revenu Québec's, which the CRA page itself points to.

Sources checked 7 October 2026

Not verified

  • Registration thresholds, including any small-supplier amount, are not stated because they were not taken from a page opened for this template.
  • Whether a blended GST-plus-PST line is acceptable to a province was not verified. The instruction above is not to blend them.
  • Revenu Québec's own QST invoice rules were not opened. Only the CRA table's PST column for Quebec is cited.

Create your invoice

Free: 3 PDFs every 24 hours. No account.

Free: 3 PDFs every 24 hours

Download your invoice

No account or card required. The limit is a rolling 24 hours.

$0

Free: 3 PDFs every 24 hours. Checking how many you have left.

From

Bill to

PNG or JPG, up to 1.5 MB.

Invoice details

Line items

Amount
C$400.00
SubtotalC$400.00
TaxC$52.00
TotalC$452.00
Balance dueC$452.00